You are here

Le GIP CIERA

What is CIERA?
CIERA’s member institutions
What CIERA can do for you
How does CIERA operate?
History

 What is CIERA?

CIERA is a public interest grouping (GIP) bringing together twelve of the most prominent French higher education and research institutions in the field of humanities and social sciences. It is supported by French Ministry for Higher Education and Research and of the DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst – German Academic Exchange Service). CIERA is a streamlined body that launches and coordinates a significant proportion of Franco-German programmes aimed at assisting junior and senior researchers. Founded following a political decision made in 1997 by the French and German governments, the centre was officially opened in 2001. It has since been renewed on a regular basis; its work was extended for ten years in 2015.
CIERA’s goal is to promote mobility towards Germany and German-speaking countries, scientific cooperation with German-speaking institutions and researchers, and research on all facets of German history and society (law, culture, politics, spaces, etc.). It has a special focus on research training in order to foster work with and on Germany from Master’s level upwards. CIERA does not provide doctoral contracts or project funding in line with the ANR (French national research agency), but fosters mobility and encourages networking, in addition to rolling out an original learning programme.
More generally, CIERA promotes a certain idea of the internationalisation of research. Considering humanities and social sciences in global terms does not simply mean speaking English. Above all, it concerns an understanding of the language of science – a language which is contextual, but which is universally understood. We are convinced that the best way to gain a long-range view of oneself and to access a genuine international dimension is through in-depth work on, and with, a foreign field, a foreign scientific tradition and a foreign understanding of concepts, methods and disciplines. As they are so close and yet so different – also as regards their scientific traditions – Germany and France provide an exceptional laboratory to make globalisation a reflective lever.
CIERA is therefore not merely a centre with a focus on Germany. It is also a transition to interdisciplinarity, to a greater understanding of scientific languages, and ultimately an invitation to explore more about oneself.

CIERA’s member institutions

  • Centre d'information et de recherche sur l'Allemagne contemporaine (CIRAC)
  • École des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS)
  • Ecole normale supérieure (ENS)
  • École normale supérieure de Lyon (ENS Lyon)
  • Institut d'études politiques de Grenoble (IEP)
  • Institut d'études politiques de Paris (IEP) - Sciences po
  • Maison des Sciences de l'Homme (MSH)
  • University of Cergy-Pontoise
  • University of Lorraine
  • University of Strasbourg
  • University Lumière-Lyon II
  • University Panthéon-Sorbonne-Paris I
  • University Paris-Sorbonne-Paris IV

What CIERA can do for you

Master’s students, doctoral students, junior researchers, professor-researchers: you do not strictly have to be a German scholar and your work does not have to focus only on Germany for you to contact us.
Whether you are looking for field research or to search the archives, to set up scientific cooperation on a subject or shared theme, to explore future collaborations or to learn how to organise an international scientific meeting, CIERA’s programmes have something for you.
All programmes are aimed at fostering mobility, exchange, training through research and emerging networks. Our structure is light and is not geared towards providing funding for your studies or a major concerted research programme. However, CIERA, within the interstices of existing major funding programmes, and without complicated applications, makes it possible to conduct real work on and with Germany, and to launch the initial phase of broader cooperation initiatives.

How does CIERA operate?

CIERA is a network of networks. It was founded in 2001. To find out more about its history please click here.
Resulting from an agreement between twelve university and research institutions, it is based on their cooperation: CIERA’s main decision-making body is therefore the general assembly which brings together the twelve member institutions. CIERA is chaired by Hélène Miard-Delacroix, who is also Chairperson of the GIP (public interest grouping).
The twelve institutions also delegate professor-researchers to sit on the Steering Committee, which discusses and steers CIERA’s actions and acts as a selection committee for most of its programmes.
Lastly, CIERA’s office (made up of its Director, two Deputy Directors and the General Secretary) and its team are in charge of CIERA’s daily tasks. They implement its main guidelines and ensure its smooth operation.
CIERA is not restricted to these twelve member institutions, however. Most of its programmes are also open to students and professor-researchers from other French, German, European and international institutions. The Scientific Board, which assesses and advises on CIERA’s activities, is made up of representatives from other institutions. All students, regardless of their location, can enrol with CIERA to receive privileged information about its activities. Simply sign up here, it is easy and free of charge.
In addition, CIERA provides an opportunity to forge cooperation initiatives with all German institutions without exclusivity. It works closely with other institutions promoting Franco-German work in humanities and social sciences, such as Centre Marc-Bloch, the Université Franco-Allemande, IFRA-SHS Frankfurt, the Institut historique allemand in Paris, the Maison Heinrich-Heine at the Cité universitaire internationale in Paris, the Goethe Institute in Lyon, to name a few.
Lastly, membership in the global network of DAAD centres allows CIERA to promote the bi-national lever more effectively to access reflective internationalisation of research into the humanities and social sciences.

History

CIERA is the fruit of a top-level political decision, as is often the case for Franco-German cooperation. This exceptional institutional investment has resulted in an atypical laboratory for internationalisation. In September 1997, the French and German governments met in Weimar and signed an agreement which included the following declaration:
“We believe that the mutual understanding of our countries’ realities must be deepened. The coming foundation of a French study and research centre on Germany meets this requirement, while contributing to the multidisciplinary training of the future specialists in contemporary German society”.
On this basis, the French ministry and the German DAAD started work alongside several French academics, who submitted various projects. The selected consortium became CIERA, the foundation of which was published in the French Official Journal on 13 December 2001.
CIERA has since expanded and several institutions have joined the public interest grouping (GIP), i.e. the alliance of member institutions. The Centre also opened sites in Strasbourg, Grenoble and Lyon. CIERA moved premises several times, before finding its permanent site in the Maison de la recherche of the University Paris-Sorbonne, which has recently been renovated. With each renewal, CIERA is serenely heading towards the celebration of its first twenty-five years of operation! The Centre has proved its usefulness and while its programmes are constantly being adapted to requirements, its core action has remained unchanged. Its team, which works through the contributions of member institutions and CIERA’s own budget, is the Centre’s beating heart, ensuring its smooth operation, conducting its programmes and supervising its publications and communications – find out more here.
CIERA’s also owes its success to the strength and inspiration of those who directed its creation and consolidation: Michael Werner, its founding Director, René Lasserre, its first Chairperson, and Nathalie Faure, its General Secretary. In 2015, Messrs. Werner and Lasserre handed over seamlessly to Christophe Duhamelle, the current Director, and Hélène Miard-Delacroix, the current Chairperson. Also in 2015, the members of the GIP renewed the agreement binding them for another ten years and the DAAD also renewed its support: CIERA’s work will continue! As a friendly nod to its founders, CIERA has given their names to the “René-Lasserre grant” internship programme and to the “CIERA Michael-Werner thesis award”.



Rapports d'activité
2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014  | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

Le GIP CIERA | CIERA
Accueil

Vous êtes ici

Le GIP CIERA

Qu’est-ce que le CIERA ?
Les établissements membres du CIERA ?
Le CIERA à votre service
Comment fonctionne le CIERA ?
Historique

Qu’est-ce que le CIERA ?

Le CIERA est un groupement d’intérêt public (GIP) associant douze des plus grands établissements français d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche en sciences humaines et sociales. Il bénéficie du soutien du ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la recherche, et de celui du DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst). Le CIERA est une structure légère qui initie et coordonne une part importante des programmes franco-allemands d’aide aux chercheurs débutants et confirmés. Né d’une décision politique prise en 1997 par les gouvernements français et allemand, il a été inauguré en 2001. Depuis lors, il est renouvelé régulièrement – en 2015, il a ainsi été prolongé pour dix ans.

Le CIERA a pour objectif de favoriser la mobilité vers l’Allemagne et les pays germanophones, la coopération scientifique avec les institutions et les chercheurs de langue allemande, ainsi que les recherches sur l’histoire et la société allemandes sans exclure aucune thématique (droit, culture, politique, espace, etc.). Il promeut en particulier la formation à la recherche afin d’encourager le travail avec et sur l’Allemagne à partir du master. Le CIERA n’offre pas de contrats doctoraux ou de financements de projets du format ANR, mais bien des mobilités et des encouragements à la mise en réseau, ainsi qu’un programme pédagogique original.

Plus généralement, le CIERA promeut une certaine idée de l’internationalisation de la recherche. Inscrire les sciences humaines et sociales dans un horizon global ne signifie pas seulement parler anglais. C’est avant tout comprendre ce que parler en scientifique veut dire – un langage toujours situé, mais pour une compréhension universelle. Notre conviction est que le travail approfondi sur, et avec, un terrain étranger, une tradition scientifique étrangère, une conception étrangère des concepts, des méthodes et des disciplines, est la meilleure façon d’acquérir sur soi-même un regard distancié et d’accéder à une véritable dimension internationale. Parce qu’elles sont si proches et si différentes – en termes de traditions scientifiques aussi – l’Allemagne et la France offrent un laboratoire exceptionnel pour faire de l’internationalisation un levier réflexif.

Le CIERA n’est donc pas seulement un lieu qui ouvre vers l’Allemagne ; il est en même temps un passage vers l’interdisciplinarité, vers une compréhension plus grande des langages scientifiques – et donc, finalement, aussi une invitation au voyage vers soi-même.

Les établissements membres du CIERA

  • Centre d'information et de recherche sur l'Allemagne contemporaine (CIRAC)
  • École des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS)
  • Ecole normale supérieure (ENS)
  • École normale supérieure de Lyon (ENS Lyon)
  • Institut d'études politiques de Grenoble (IEP)
  • Institut d'études politiques de Paris (IEP) - Sciences po
  • Maison des Sciences de l'Homme (MSH)
  • Université de Cergy-Pontoise
  • Université de Strasbourg
  • Université Lumière-Lyon II
  • Université Panthéon-Sorbonne-Paris I
  • Université Paris-Sorbonne-Paris IV

Le CIERA à votre service

Mastérants, doctorants, jeunes chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs : il n’est pas nécessaire que vous soyez de purs « germanistes », ni que votre travail porte uniquement sur l’Allemagne, pour que vous vous adressiez à nous.

Que ce soit pour un « terrain » ou des recherches en archives, pour un stage, pour mettre en place une coopération scientifique sur un objet ou un thème commun, pour explorer des collaborations futures ou pour vous initier à l’élaboration d’une rencontre scientifique internationale, les programmes du CIERA ont quelque chose à vous offrir.

Ils ont tous en commun de promouvoir les mobilités, les échanges, la formation par la recherche, les réseaux émergents. Tous, ils sont « légers » – ce n’est pas au CIERA que vous trouverez de quoi financer vos études, ou un programme de recherche concertée de grande taille. En revanche, le CIERA, dans les interstices des gros financements existants, et sans dossiers compliqués à remplir, rend possible le travail concret sur et avec l’Allemagne, et la phase initiale de coopérations plus larges.

Comment fonctionne le CIERA ?

Le CIERA est un réseau de réseaux. Il existe depuis 2001. Plus sur son histoire ici.

Issu d’un accord entre douze institutions universitaires et de recherche, il repose sur leur coopération : l’instance de décision principale du CIERA est donc l’assemblée générale qui rassemble les douze établissements-membres. Sa présidente, Hélène Miard-Delacroix, est également présidente du GIP.

Les douze établissements délèguent également des enseignants-chercheurs pour faire partie du comité de pilotage, qui discute et oriente les actions du CIERA et joue le rôle de comité de sélection pour la plupart de ses programmes.

Enfin, le bureau du CIERA (composé de son directeur, des deux directeurs adjoints et de la secrétaire générale) et son équipe font vivre le CIERA au jour le jour, mettent en œuvre ses grandes orientations et assurent son bon fonctionnement.

Les douze établissements-membres ne résument toutefois pas le CIERA. La plupart de ses programmes sont d’ailleurs ouverts aux étudiants et enseignants-chercheurs d’autres institutions, françaises, allemandes, mais aussi européennes et plus globalement, internationales. Le conseil scientifique, qui évalue et conseille l’activité du CIERA, est issu d’autres établissements. Et tous les étudiants, où qu’ils soient, peuvent s’inscrire au CIERA pour recevoir de manière préférentielle les informations sur ses activités. Il suffit de s’inscrire ici, c’est facile et gratuit.

En outre, le CIERA offre la possibilité de nouer des coopérations avec tous les établissements allemands, sans exclusive. Il travaille en lien étroit avec d’autres institutions favorisant le travail franco-allemand en sciences humaines et sociales, comme le Centre Marc-Bloch, l’Université Franco-Allemande, l’IFRA-SHS de Francfort, l’Institut historique allemand de Paris, la Maison Heinrich-Heine de la Cité universitaire internationale de Paris, l’Institut Goethe de Lyon, et bien d’autres.

Enfin, l’insertion dans le réseau mondial des centres DAAD permet au CIERA de promouvoir d’autant mieux le levier bi-national comme accès à une internationalisation réflexive de la recherche en sciences humaines et sociales.

Historique

Le CIERA est issu d’une volonté politique au plus haut niveau – c’est souvent le cas pour la coopération franco-allemande, et c’est cet exceptionnel investissement institutionnel qui en fait un laboratoire atypique d’internationalisation. En septembre 1997, à Weimar, les gouvernements français et allemand ont signé un accord qui comportait la déclaration suivante :

« Nous pensons qu’il faut encore approfondir la connaissance réciproque des réalités de nos pays. L’ouverture prochaine en France d’un centre d’études et de recherches sur l’Allemagne répond à ce besoin, en contribuant à la formation pluridisciplinaire des futurs spécialistes des réalités allemandes contemporaines ».

Sur cette base, le ministère français et le DAAD allemand se sont mis au travail – plusieurs universitaires français aussi, qui ont proposé différents projets. Le consortium retenu a donné naissance au CIERA, dont la création a été publiée au Journal Officiel du 13 décembre 2001.

Depuis lors, le CIERA a grandi, plusieurs établissements ont rejoint le GIP, c’est-à-dire l’alliance des établissements membres, et le Centre est donc aussi implanté à Strasbourg, Grenoble et Lyon. Le CIERA a déménagé plusieurs fois, il a désormais trouvé un domicile fixe dans la Maison de la recherche de l’université Paris-Sorbonne, récemment rénovée. De renouvellement en renouvellement, le CIERA peut sereinement voir venir son premier quart de siècle ! Car il a fait la preuve de son utilité et, si ses programmes sont en constante adaptation aux besoins, le cœur de son action est resté le même. Son équipe, réunie grâce à l’apport des établissements membres et au budget propre du CIERA, fait vivre notre Centre en assurant son fonctionnement, en animant ses programmes et en faisant vivre ses publications et sa communication – retrouvez-là ici.

Cette réussite est aussi due à la solidité et à l’inspiration de celle et ceux qui ont présidé à la création et à la consolidation du CIERA : Michael Werner, son directeur-fondateur, René Lasserre, son premier président, et Nathalie Faure, sa secrétaire générale. En 2015, les deux premiers ont passé la main, dans l’harmonie, à Christophe Duhamelle, actuel directeur, et Hélène Miard-Delacroix, actuelle présidente. Toujours en 2015, les membres du GIP ont renouvelé pour dix ans la convention qui les lie et le DAAD lui aussi a renouvelé son soutien : l’histoire du CIERA peut continuer ! Pour adresser un amical salut à ses fondateurs, le CIERA a donné leurs noms au programme de bourses de stage « bourses René-Lasserre » et au prix de thèse « prix de thèse du CIERA Michael-Werner ».