About us

body

AN INTERDISCIPLINARY, FRANCO-GERMAN AND INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH COMMUNITY

CIERA (Centre Interdisciplinaire d’études et de Recherches sur l’Allemagne) or Interdisciplinary Centre for Studies and Research on Germany brings together 12 of the most prestigious French higher education and research institutions within a public interest group (GIP). The Centre promotes and supports scientific cooperation between France and Germany. Based in Paris, its activities are conducted in France (mainly in the Ile-de-France, Grand-Est and Rhone-Alpes regions), in Germany and beyond.

CIERA is supported by the German Academic Exchange Office (DAAD: Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst) and by France’s Ministry of Higher Education for Research and Innovation (MESRI: Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur de la Recherche et de l'Innovation).

OUR ACTIONS TO SERVICE FRANCO-GERMAN RESEARCH

CIERA works for all young researchers (from a master’s degree onwards) and confirmed researchers who work on, but also with Germany, or more broadly in connection with the German-speaking area in the humanities and social sciences.

You do not have to be a Germanist, and your work does not have to relate only to Germany, if you wish to turn to us.

CIERA proposes a range of innovative activities and actions for Franco-German research:

OUR PRINCIPLE: “OPENING THE HORIZONS OF THOUGHT”

CIERA welcomes researchers to an international research laboratory that allows them to rethink and transcend academic and disciplinary boundaries – from a Franco-German perspective.

Placing the humanities and social sciences in a global context does not mean only speaking English. Above all, it is an understanding of what speaking scientifically means: a language that is always situated, but with the aim of supporting universal understanding. Our conviction is that the thorough work on, and with a foreign location, a foreign scientific tradition, and using foreign notions of concepts, methods and disciplines, is the best way to acquire a distanced perspective of oneself and to accede to a true international dimension.

It is precisely because they are so close and so different – including in their scientific traditions – that Germany and France offer an exceptional laboratory to make internationalisation a reflexive tool in research.

So, CIERA is therefore not only a place providing access to Germany; it is at the same time a passage toward interdisciplinarity, towards a greater understanding of scientific languages – and so ultimately also an invitation to re-discover oneself.

OUR HISTORY

CIERA was set up under political impetus from the highest level. In September 1997, in Weimar, the French and German governments signed an agreement calling for the creation of a consortium to encourage, structure and internationalise training and research programs in the humanities and social sciences.

"We believe that we need to deepen further the mutual knowledge of the realities of our countries. The forthcoming opening in France of a centre for German studies and research responds to this need, by contributing to the multidisciplinary training of future specialists of contemporary German realities."

In December 2001, the project resulted in the creation of a public Interest group (GIP) under French law: the Interdisciplinary Centre for Studies and Research on Germany (CIERA), which originally brought together 9 higher education and research institutions. It is jointly funded by Germany and France through the German Academic Exchange Office (DAAD) on the one hand, and France’s Ministry of Higher Education and Research together with member institutions on the other hand.

See the convention which founded the Centre

Since then, the CIERA has expanded. It is regularly renewed and several institutions have joined the alliance of the Centre’s member institutions, which now has 12 members among France’s most prestigious academic institutions. From renewal to renewal, CIERA can optimistically move forward in its 20th year.

This success is also due to the strength and inspiration of those who presided over the creation and consolidation of CIERA: Michael Werner (its founding director), René Lasserre (first president) and Nathalie Faure (secretary-general). In 2015, the first two handed over smoothly their positions to Christophe Duhamelle (the current director) and to Hélène Miard-Delacroix (current president).

Also in 2015, the members of the GIP agreed to extended their participation for ten years. DAAD, too, has renewed its support: and so the history of CIERA can continue!

Lisez nos rapports d'activité

Image
CIERA rapport d'activité 2021

2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014  | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

 

 

Publié le 17/06/2021
Modifié le 24/02/2022

Qui sommes nous ?

body

​UNE COMMUNAUTÉ DE RECHERCHE INTERDISCIPLINAIRE, FRANCO-ALLEMANDE ET INTERNATIONALE

Le Centre Interdisciplinaire d’études et de Recherches sur l’Allemagne rassemble douze établissements français d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche parmi les plus prestigieux au sein d’un groupement d’intérêt public (GIP). Le Centre favorise et soutient la coopération scientifique entre la France et l’Allemagne. Basé à Paris, ses activités se déploient en France (principalement dans la région Île-de-France, Grand Est et Rhône-Alpes), en Allemagne et au-delà.
Le CIERA bénéficie du soutien de l’Office allemand d'échanges universitaires (DAAD) et du Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur de la Recherche et de l'Innovation (MESRI).

NOS ACTIONS AU SERVICE DE LA RECHERCHE FRANCO-ALLEMANDE

Le CIERA s’adresse à tous et toutes les jeunes chercheur.e.s (dès le master) et les chercheur.e.s confirmé.e.s qui travaillent sur mais aussi avec l’Allemagne ou plus largement en lien avec l’aire germanophone en sciences humaines et sociales.

Il n’est pas nécessaire que vous soyez germanistes, ni que votre travail porte uniquement sur l’Allemagne, pour que vous vous tourniez vers nous.

Le CIERA propose un ensemble d’actions et d’activités innovantes au service de la recherche franco-allemande :

NOTRE PRINCIPE : « DÉPAYSER LA PENSÉE »

Le CIERA vous ouvre les portes d’un laboratoire de la recherche internationale qui permet de repenser et dépasser les frontières académiques et disciplinaires : le franco-allemand.
Inscrire les sciences humaines et sociales dans un horizon global ne signifie pas seulement parler anglais. C’est avant tout comprendre ce que parler en scientifique veut dire : un langage toujours situé, mais pour une compréhension universelle. Notre conviction est que le travail approfondi sur, et avec, un terrain étranger, une tradition scientifique étrangère, une conception étrangère des concepts, des méthodes et des disciplines, est la meilleure façon d’acquérir sur soi-même un regard distancié et d’accéder à une véritable dimension internationale.

Parce qu’elles sont si proches et si différentes – en termes de traditions scientifiques aussi – l’Allemagne et la France offrent un laboratoire exceptionnel pour faire de l’internationalisation un levier réflexif.

Le CIERA n’est donc pas seulement un lieu qui ouvre vers l’Allemagne ; il est en même temps un passage vers l’interdisciplinarité, vers une compréhension plus grande des langages scientifiques – et donc, finalement, aussi une invitation au voyage vers soi-même.

NOTRE HISTOIRE

Le CIERA est issu d’une volonté politique au plus haut niveau. En septembre 1997, à Weimar, les gouvernements français et allemand ont signé un accord qui appelaient à la création d’un consortium afin d’encourager, structurer et internationaliser des programmes de formation et de recherche en sciences humaines et sociales.

« Nous pensons qu’il faut encore approfondir la connaissance réciproque des réalités de nos pays. L’ouverture prochaine en France d’un centre d’études et de recherches sur l’Allemagne répond à ce besoin, en contribuant à la formation pluridisciplinaire des futurs spécialistes des réalités allemandes contemporaines ».

Le projet retenu a donné naissance, en décembre 2001, à un groupement d’intérêt public (GIP) : le Centre interdisciplinaire d'études et de recherches sur l'Allemagne (CIERA), qui rassemble à l’origine 9 établissements d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche. Il est financé conjointement par l’Allemagne et la France à travers l’Office allemand d’échanges universitaires (DAAD) d’un côté, le Ministère de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche et les établissements membres de l’autre.

Lire la convention constitutive du Centre

Depuis lors, le CIERA s’est élargi. Il est reconduit régulièrement et plusieurs institutions ont rejoint l’alliance des établissements membres du Centre qui compte aujourd’hui 12 membres parmi les plus prestigieux établissements universitaires français. De renouvellement en renouvellement, le CIERA peut sereinement entamer sa vingtième année d’existence.

frise CIERA

Cette réussite est aussi due à la solidité et à l’inspiration de celle et ceux qui ont présidé à la création et à la consolidation du CIERA : Michael Werner, son directeur-fondateur, René Lasserre, son premier président, et Nathalie Faure, sa secrétaire générale. En 2015, les deux premiers ont passé la main, dans l’harmonie, à Christophe Duhamelle, actuel directeur, et Hélène Miard-Delacroix, actuelle présidente.

Toujours en 2015, les membres du GIP ont prolongé pour dix ans la convention qui les lie. Le DAAD a, lui aussi, renouvelé son soutien : l’histoire du CIERA peut continuer !

Lisez nos rapports d'activité

Image
couverture rapport


2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014  | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

Publié le 08/11/2016
Modifié le 19/07/2021